Dream a little Dream for me…Part 1…

Charming space…gorgeous models…breathtaking accessories…glittery jewelry…and makeup, makeup, MAKEUP! What better way to spend a Saturday than to have the opportunity to glam up three beautiful ladies? In order to give each model her proper due, I will be breaking this post into three different sections so that I may wax poetic (i.e. gush appropriately) about each one.

 

Here is a sneak peek of all three…

...Abby...Phoenix...Nuong...

 

Let’s start with Nuong…

What can I say…I could gush all day long! Nuong’s slightly layered, shoulder length hair made the perfect base for soft “Old Hollywood-esque” style curls.

  • I made sure to prep her hair with a heat protectant spray to prevent damage and help hold the curl.
  • Using a 1-inch flat iron, I looped 2-inch sections of Nuong’s hair around one side of the iron, clamped down, and gently pulled the iron down her hair. At the same time, I held the end of the hair section to keep it tight against the flat iron.
  • Once it had cooled, I brushed through the curls with a boar bristle brush.
  • Then I used my fingers to style the hair in place and finished with a strong, but flexible hairspray.

Voilà! Insta glam!

 

On to the pièce de résistance…the makeup!

Inspiration for Nuong’s makeup was a direct result of the hair and outfits that we picked out. I had a bit of a “Marilyn” moment with her. “Bedroom eyes” with thick liner and red lips… irresistible!

  • I started by prepping the skin with a makeup primer.
  • Then used a peach toned concealer, followed by a skin tone matching concealer.
  • A light application of liquid foundation was set by an HD finishing powder.
  • Brows were filled in with powder and wax was used to keep hairs in place.
  • Using a matte face powder 2 shades darker than Nuong’s skin tone, I contoured the hollows of her cheeks, the temples, the jaw line, and then blended it into her neck. This was followed by a light application of a mauve pink on the apples of the cheeks and then a highlighter on the cheekbones.
  • After prepping her eyelids with an eyeshadow primer, I applied a combination of neutral beige cream eyeshadows all over the lid. This was followed by a matching powder shadow.
  • A matte cement shade was used to add a little contouring in the crease.
  • Black liner was applied on the upper lash line (with a bit of tightlining) and very sparsely on the lower lash line before the false lashes were added. After applying the lashes, a thick black cream liner was added and winged out at the ends for added drama. A little black shadow was applied on top to “lock in” the liner.
  • Lashes were lightly curled and mascara was added. Real lashes were pushed into the falsies and then “glued” in place by the mascara.
  • In order to get true RED lips, I lightly applied concealer to Nuong’s lips, penciled them in with a red lip liner, and followed this with the red lipstick (applied via lip brush). Blotted and then reapplied lipstick.

Phew! Trust me, it goes much faster than you think. And when you are done the results = BEAUTIFUL!! Of course, it helps to start with a stunning model who just happens to have an amazing personality to boot.

 

Reflections on this shoot? This is makeup/hair/beauty LOVE…at its finest. How lucky am I?

It was crazy busy with makeup, hair, and styling…and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Thanks to the efforts of all the ladies involved, it was a spectacular, unforgettable day. I can’t wait for the spring edition…the ideas are already filling my thoughts both day and night…

 

Stay tuned for Part 2…Abby…

 

Photography…Canary Grey

 

…xo…
Amber

Leave a Reply

